RAMP IT UP Fundraiser… and a Mini-Update

It has been months since I’ve updated.  I wish I could say that it was because I was spending so much time throwing pots that my eyes started bleeding, but alas, this is not the case.

New and amazing things in my little corner of the pottery world, though.  I’ve moved from La Mano in Chelsea to work out of a studio closer to home (and in an environment that is more suited to my learning style) and have been averaging a nice, chunky once-a-week visit to work on throwing and even try my hand at hand building and tile making a little bit.  It’s been magnificent.  I’ve gotten to work with porcelain, a new brown clay body, commercial glazes and have even seen a raku kiln in action.  Serious business!  My hope is that in the summer I will be able to spend ample time at this studio learning the tricks of the trade, as it were.  Until then I am happily potting, and I hope to have photos up soon of some of my more recent work, which has been absolutely fucking amazeballs.

I’ve killed my Flickr account and I’m looking for a better web host for the majority of the photos I want to share.  I’m investigating SnapFish, but it seems wonky to me (the usability of their “share” website function is… not so usable).  As some of you know, I am now teaching at the school I was once an administrator for – and I’ve been wondering, pretty much since June, what in the hell I was thinking giving up my delightful office job.  Teaching continues to be a daily challenge, but I love my students and my co-teacher, so I’m taking it one day at a time and in the meanwhile trying to fit in as much crafting as I possibly can (this, by the way, is 100% why I haven’t had time to update this blog since April).

With the mini-update out of the way, allow me to get to the point!  Once again I’ve been asked to donate some of my work to a good cause.  A friend of mine has a son with cerebral palsy and this Saturday, December 1st at 7:00pm they’re holding a fundraiser to help the family purchase some of the necessary equipment to deal with his illness.  Tickets are $20 at the door.  The fabulous Three Pints Shy and Mr. Rick Nestler will be performing a raucous concert in honor of Brennan Macleod, and there will be a raffle including some of my pottery (including tickets for commissioned pieces), ridiculous truffles from Drunken Otter Chocolates, and home-cured and smoked bacon, smoked in my very own backyard by my delightful Significant Other (I can vouch for it’s awesomeness!).

For more information, directions, or if you just want to make a donation without attending (but then, you’ll miss out on all the delicious goodies!), you can check out the RAMP IT UP website here.

Please consider giving to this beautiful family.  Brennan is a sweet boy and his parents are awesome people.  Any help is deeply appreciated!

Yours in mud,
N

About SacredSpiralPottery

I am a novice potter who was blessedly introduced to clay in January of 2011. I've become totally addicted to mud and all of its amazing properties, and spend a good deal of time working on my own projects and helping out at a small private studio in Jersey City.
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Pottery, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

