The McKinnon Fundraiser, Heart Bowls, and Pendants

On Saturday, April 14th, some friends got together and held a fundraiser for Kelley McKinnon, who, after serious surgery to remove a brain tumor, was in tremendous medical debt.  Many talented performers got together to have a variety show in her honor, and between ticket sales, raffle purchases, and online donations, raised over $5,000 to help offset the costs of her surgery.  You can see some of the (admittedly terrible) pictures I took of the variety show, which was a lot of fun and a huge success!  Head on over to Flickr to check ’em out.

Here are some pictures of some of my pottery which was raffled off at the fundraiser:

Here are some details shots of the shepherd’s flask (I was sad to part with it), and the small heart tokens I included with the commission tickets:

Interestingly, folks who won my pottery in the raffle took the pieces that were already made, and skipped over the three bags that had the commission tickets in them.  At the end of the night, they ended up going to three people that I know very well (including Chad, because he is sneaky and put his ticket in the pottery jar!).  We think it’s because the bags were really lightweight and no one bothered to really look in there, and/or thought that it was just my business card and a small ornament.  Oh, well, for next time I now know better!

Here are some photos of the rest of the pendants that I made when I was making the “hope” ones.  I’m really pleased with all of the ones I made except for the “love” tokens – the glaze did not come out pretty at all!

I have a few questions about these pieces, actually.  Would you purchase one of these, and if so, does $5 seem too much?  Would it just be better to include them as a “free gift” when I mail people their orders?  Comments!  I would love to hear your thoughts.

Also, here are some more cylinders from the 100 Cylinders project!  At this point, I think it will really be the 20 Cylinders project.  I’m feeling the need to throw bowls like whoa.

But wait!  I’m not quite done!  Here are some pictures of some heart bowls I threw.  It was my first attempt at creating the shape.  They’re not as… sharp as I would like, I guess… but they are heart-shaped, which is a start!  They’re a bit bottom heavy, too, but I guess that’s what you get for throwing and trimming on the same day (i.e., pottery is one of those things where it really doesn’t pay to rush).

So cute!  We are using them around the kitchen.  They’re little bits of loveliness, though I have to perfect the technique a little more before I start featuring them in the Etsy store.  Which, by the way, has seen very little activity this year.  I guess I need to get some more pottery up there, though I’ve had my first in-transit breakage and I’m a little freaked out by that (I have both [a] discovered a better method for shipping that hopefully will prevent that in the future and [b] thrown replacement bowls for the folks who ordered them as per my shop’s policies.  And also, you know, being a decent person.  ^.^;).

Anyhow, that is all for today.  I owe everyone another featured potter story (I’ll get there!), but for now, here is a view of my tiny zen rock pile in the garden out back:

Enjoying the mud,

N

About SacredSpiralPottery

I am a novice potter who was blessedly introduced to clay in January of 2011. I've become totally addicted to mud and all of its amazing properties, and spend a good deal of time working on my own projects and helping out at a small private studio in Jersey City.
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Pottery, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The McKinnon Fundraiser, Heart Bowls, and Pendants

  1. Pingback: Sacred spirals | Premiervirtual

Leave a Reply

