Coming Out of My Cave…

*pokes head out*

So, um, wow.  Hello.  It has been two months (plus!  two months plus!) since I wrote last.  I bet some people thought I got lost on St. Maarten or something (I wish I’d gotten lost on St. Maarten!).  Alas, the explanation for my absence is far more mundane, but I hope to be back to a semi-regular posting schedule now that life has sort of ironed itself out a bit.

A lot has happened in the last two months, not all of which I am inclined to share with the wide world.  Suffice it to say there have been tears, laughter, and lots of recuperating, and I have been re-establishing my daily routine, which was badly disrupted by the holidays and things that went on during the month of January (don’t worry; I am fine, and the family is, for the most part, also fine.  Certainly, we all have our health, which is all you can ask for some days).

I’ve also not gotten to spend a lot of time at La Mano, a conundrum I am hoping to solve by taking some time off from being a studio assistant so I can focus on being a studio potter.  There’s a show of studio potter work coming up soon (details later this month), which I hope to have some pieces ready for (we’ll see).  Mostly I am just looking forward to getting back into the studio, centering, and getting my hands in some clay!

But!  Explanations out of the way (kind of!), I’d like to share my photos of St. Maarten with you.  It was such a spectacular trip!  While the boyfriend and I were only there for five days, they were such blissfully relaxing, amazing, adventurous days that it felt like a truly restful experience.  What a beautiful island!  I loved the trip to Mexico in April of last year, but St. Maarten marks the first time Chad and I have ever gone on a vacation entirely alone together, and that, coupled with the fact that St. Maarten is such an amazing place in just about every respect, made the whole time there remarkable for me.  We did just about everything you could think of to do on a small island, and played in the ocean every day for hours.  It was just spectacular.

My favorite part of the trip was probably the diving experience, though (which we still need to get pictures of!  Must call the dive shop).  These were my second and third dives and we saw such amazing things, like a lobster that was at least four feet long (seriously), and giant sting rays, and a school of jellyfish (which I swam through, unharmed thankfully).  It was like being on a different planet, down there under the water.  I am so envious of the people who get to do that every day of their lives!

Anyhow, take a look at the photos if you’d like (some are really lovely, I particularly love the ones of the street market in Marigot, the capital on the French side of the island), and keep an eye out here for more pottery related news!  I have tons of photos to upload here, a new featured potter to showcase, and a studio potter show at La Mano to announce (officially)!

Until them, I am yours in mud.

N

About SacredSpiralPottery

I am a novice potter who was blessedly introduced to clay in January of 2011. I've become totally addicted to mud and all of its amazing properties, and spend a good deal of time working on my own projects and helping out at a small private studio in Jersey City.
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Pottery, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

