Holiday Party, Winter “Sale,” and Musings on Productivity

Hello hello!

I hope that everyone had a beautiful, restful Thanksgiving.  I won’t discuss mine here; that’s the stuff for a much more personal blog, but I will say the food was amazing (as always!) and I was happy to spend some time with my family.  More or less.  ^_~

First up, we have a little “preview” party for La Mano – we’re moving!  The 18th Street studio will close in December, and we’ll be opening our new (AWESOMELY HUGE) space on 26th Street for the January session of classes.  So exciting!  In addition to tons more space, we’ll also have another kiln (woo!) and several more potter’s wheels and handbuilding tables.  Class sizes are expected to grow and there’s been talk of workshops, a fancy glazing station and even (*crosses fingers*) teacher training.  I’m SUPER excited!

To celebrate all of this (and more) awesomeness, we’re having our annual holiday party on Friday, December 9th.  Here’s the formal invite!

There’s talk of music (live!), dancing, and all-around fun.  The party will be potluck and – of course! – there will be lots of amazing pottery for sale, both thrown and hand built.  Come by to support this amazing studio and its fantastic community of artists as we embark on the next step of our journey!  ^_^

Secondly, and speaking of winter things, and pottery, and, you know… buying pottery… ^.^;  I’m having a sort-of winter sale in my Etsy shop.  I say sort of because I’m not reducing prices or whatnot, but I am offering free shipping on any purchases made between December 1st (this Thursday) and December 31st.  Details are here, in the policies section of my shop.  There won’t be much new up there, I’m thinking, so if you see something there you like, please let me know and I’ll reserve it if you can’t get it now.  Unfortunately, if we’ve not already had a conversation about commission work for Christmas, I won’t be able to accommodate you in time – I’m happy to take orders, but please know they most likely won’t be ready for December 25th.  In fact, due to the move and the dubious availability of the kilns during that time, they might not even be ready until the new year.

This brings me to my third point, which is productivity.  I’m generally one of those people who always feels like I could be doing more.  As in, currently, I’ve only gotten into the studio once a week (no different from when I was taking classes) to do any work.  I’ve done 10 of 100 cylinders for my cylinders project (the 10th is waiting to be trimmed), and my thoughts of making Christmas gifts for everyone on my list are getting dashed to pieces (also, seriously WordPress?  “Dashed” isn’t a word?  WTF?).  I haven’t been able to get myself up early enough in the mornings, so I just stay after my shift on Fridays.  It’s such a short amount of time to sit and play.  I’m starting to think that my weekends should just be devoted to clay (which is ironic, as I gave up a weekend shift because it became too much of a hassle to get into the studio on Sundays).  I want to make more and I want to focus on teaching myself, and I haven’t had the time.  There are a bunch of craft fairs that I won’t be able to participate in because I just don’t have the stock.  This is not okay!  If my dream is to eventually support myself on my pottery, how do I make time to get to the studio without turning my life into the hell that it was while I was doing my Masters?

I’m happily crafting at home.  I’ve decided that, until I have finished every old project on the table (including some that have been sitting around for twelve years or more), I cannot start a new project.  But I can’t work on my pottery projects at home since, you know, I don’t have a wheel.  Or the space to throw in.  Or the proper sink for washing up.  Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.  It will take me over a year to finish 100 cylinders (or 100 anything!) if I don’t get my butt into the studio more than once a week.

That’s it, then.  I have to get in there on the weekends until I feel compelled to drag myself from my bed before 7:00AM.

I guess the craft fairs (and even the holiday parties at La Mano) are for next year.

Until then, I am humbly yours in mud.

Nessa

About SacredSpiralPottery

I am a novice potter who was blessedly introduced to clay in January of 2011. I've become totally addicted to mud and all of its amazing properties, and spend a good deal of time working on my own projects and helping out at a small private studio in Jersey City.
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Pottery, Other People's Pottery, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holiday Party, Winter “Sale,” and Musings on Productivity

  1. sandcastle1015 says:

    why not bring some of the things on your etsy site into the studio party to sell?????

  2. What a cute invite, I love the snowmen!

Leave a Reply

