Some New Stuff

Just a quick update to throw out some pictures of new things as well as some stuff that’s in the second stage of its life.

New stuff:

The rounder bowl is a commission piece, which will be made into a mug.  Just threw these in class last night and am especially pleased with the bowl-that-will-be-a-mug.

Second phase (trimming and handles):

SO happy with the the pitcher.  It looks fantastic!  I’m afraid that the bottom is going to get cracked, though – as I was trimming it I realized how uneven the floor of the piece was.  *sigh*  We shall see!  I threw these last week, and am sort of amazed that I had the nerve to trim them in class last night; they were still a little wet.  Ah, well.  I’m happy with how they look.  ^_^

BUT.  The major revelatory experience of last night!  We had another sub (Lynn), and she explained to me how to lift clay that made so much sense to me that I threw a ramen bowl instantly.  INSTANTLY.  It was nuts. Basically, Lynn showed me a different position to hold my hands in when pulling up the clay. Everyone does this differently; there are certain “right” ways to pot, I guess, but everyone’s body is so different, and pottery is a hugely physical art. A lot depends on how well your body understands, or at least that’s been my experience so far… buy a lot has to do with your critical, cognitive understanding as well. Anyway, I had been holding my hands the way I’d seen plenty of other potters hold theirs, and it turns out that method doesn’t work for me. I was so glad to discover that it only took a minor correction to give me the control I need to throw better. ^_^

That is all for now. Just finished a four-hour shift at the studio and I’m exhausted!

About SacredSpiralPottery

I am a novice potter who was blessedly introduced to clay in January of 2011. I've become totally addicted to mud and all of its amazing properties, and spend a good deal of time working on my own projects and helping out at a small private studio in Jersey City.
This entry was posted in My Pottery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Some New Stuff

  1. Max says:

    These look wonderful! I love those “A-ha!” moments; the ones that you might have stumbled upon after weeks or months of solitary experimentation, but are most gratifying when given to you–like a tangible gift–by a fellow artisan sharing their experience.

    • Thanks! And yes, I’m at the point I think where I have enough of the feel of it to understand specific instructions and be able to apply them immediately, if that makes sense. Mostly I’m just glad that I have the opportunity to learn from so many different people!

  2. mott says:

    Beautiful pieces!! You are getting to be an amazing potter! I think I need to buy more Nessa creations 🙂

  3. sandcastle1015 says:

    The pitcher looks amazing!!!!!

Leave a Reply

