A Note on Bowls…

I worked a shift at the studio on Sunday, and realized as I was picking up another of my finished pieces that I’ve been going about bowls all wrong.

I’ve heard my teacher say it a hundred times, and I’ve even heard other teachers say it: the hole you drop is the base of your bowl.

I heard it, but I didn’t understand it.  It took me handling my newest piece on Sunday to realize that this means if you don’t open a wide hole to start with (and get all of that clay out of the way and in position to be the walls), it’s impossible to get a large bowl.  In other words, if the initial hole is only 3 inches across, the most the rim of the bowl can be when it’s finished is 4 inches, lest the whole thing collapse while you’re pulling it up. The largest of my bowls is about 5 inches across and deep; I’m of a mind to make some serious ramen bowls now that I’ve got a better understanding of how to make larger pieces (besides just having more clay on the wheel).

That being said, here’s a quick preview of the bowl I brought home Sunday, which will be up for sale in my Etsy store later today or tomorrow:

I adore this glaze combination; there’s something really earthy and beautiful about it that sings to me of home cooking.  I’m always a little reluctant to part with anything done in this glaze… but I keep accumulating bowls with nowhere to put them!  So, for sale they shall go.

Until later!

Yours in mud,
Nessa

About SacredSpiralPottery

I am a novice potter who was blessedly introduced to clay in January of 2011. I've become totally addicted to mud and all of its amazing properties, and spend a good deal of time working on my own projects and helping out at a small private studio in Jersey City.
This entry was posted in My Pottery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

